The Lee Westwood Trophy

Officially known as The Rotherham Golf Club Open Strokeplay Championship, this annual World Amateur Golf Ranking PING/EGU order of merit 72-hole event is one of our major highlights of the season.

The event, which takes place over three days (36 holes on the final day) in August, has attracted overseas players from China, South Africa, Australia, Holland, as well as English international players, and has gone from strength to strength over the years.

Staged since 2005, the competition always draws a high-quality field and invariably features some spectacular golf. That first year saw the course record of 65 beaten. It had been held jointly for 10 years by Lee Westwood himself and Ian Garbutt, but broken by Simon Coumbe of Pontefract Golf Club with a magnificent 62 in the second round.
Winners include David Horsey (European Tour Player and BMW International Open Champion) and arguably the greatest amateur golfer England has ever produced, Gary Wolstenholme.

The event is run like clockwork by a team of eager volunteers from the club.

2018 Entry form

Conditions of Entry 2018