The Lee Westwood Trophy

The Rotherham Golf Club Open Strokeplay Championship

In the past this prestigeous competition has attracted overseas players from China, South Africa, Australia, Holland, as well as numerous English international players.

Staged since 2005, the competition always draws a high-quality field and invariably features some spectacular golf. That first year saw the then course record of 65 beaten. It had been held jointly for 10 years by Lee Westwood himself and Ian Garbutt but it was broken by Simon Coumbe of Pontefract & District Golf Club with a magnificent 62 in the second round.

Winners include David Horsey in 2006 (European Tour Player and BMW International Open Champion) and arguably the greatest amateur golfer England has ever produced, Gary Wolstenholme in 2008.

Past Champions

2005James Mason
2006David Horsey 
2007Greg Blainey
2008Gary Wolstenholm 
2009Adam Keogh
2010Ben Loughrey 
2011Ashley Chesters
2012Darren Timms
2013Joe Dean
2014Joe Dean
2015Sam Haywood
2016Nick Poppleton 
2017Andrew Wilson
2018Ben Schmidt 
2019David Hague
2022Tom North 
2023Habib Khan